2021 Order of Australia Honours

15 Feb 2021 speech

Ms FLINT (Boothby—Government Whip) (19:17): I commend the member for Berowra on moving this motion on the Order of Australia honours, and I would like to place on record my own support for the recipients of the Order of Australia in the 2021 Australia Day honours within my electorate of Boothby. As the federal member for Boothby I am honoured to be able to congratulate this year's recipients and to acknowledge the contribution of so many local residents and groups to the richness of our local community.

I would like to recognise the following residents for their outstanding service. Emeritus Professor Wayne Sampson AM was made a Member of the Order of Australia for his significant service to dental education in
the field of orthodontics. Professor Sampson has played a leading role in South Australia's orthodontic field since being appointed a senior registrar in orthodontics in 1975 at the Royal Adelaide Dental Hospital. Since his appointment, Professor Sampson has gone on to serve as a lecturer and senior lecturer at the University of Adelaide while assisting the dental department at the Royal Adelaide Dental Hospital in the roles of senior visiting dental specialist and senior consultant throughout the 1980s.

Additionally, as a former president and longstanding member of the South Australian branch of the Australian Society of Orthodontists, Professor Sampson was awarded an honorary life membership in 2014. Currently, as the emeritus professor of orthodontics at the University of Adelaide, Professor Sampson has authored more than 70 publications in refereed journals and was presented with a Meritorious Service Award from the Australian Society of orthodontists in 2008. Through a distinguished career, Professor Sampson has mentored and guided generations of students not just through their degrees but well into their professional lives.

Dr Roy Scragg AM OBE was made a Member of the Order of Australia for his significant service to medicine, to epidemiology and to professional medical associations. A former representative of the Papua New Guinea parliament, Dr Scragg was a member of the House of Assembly, the Constitutional Committee, the Legislative Council and the Executive Council. For his public service, he was appointed and Officer of the Order of the British Empire, PNG, in 1971.

While significant, Dr Scragg's dedication to public service is only exceeded by his medical achievements. A longstanding medical professional in Papua New Guinea and in Australia, Dr Scragg has been an influential figure in the fields of medicine and epidemiology since joining the Department of Health for the Australian administration of the then Territory of Papua New Guinea in 1947. Following his tenure as director of the department, Dr Scragg went on to become a foundation Professor of Social and Preventive Medicine at the University of Papua New Guinea in 1970, while serving as a founding member and president of both the Australian Society for Epidemiology and Research into Community Health—now the Australian Epidemiological Association—and the Australian Public Health Association, which is now the Public Health Association of Australia. Dr Scragg's achievements in these fields have earned him a life membership of the Australasian Epidemiological Association in 2012 and an honorary doctorate from The University of Adelaide in 2014.

The following local residents were awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in the 2021 Australia Day Honours List. Ms Fiona Thomson, OAM, was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for her service to youth through Girl Guides and to academic librarianship within the University of South Australia and the late Mr Douglas Robert Scott, OAM, was awarded for his service to the community through a range of roles.

I would also like to recognise Detective Superintendent Kym Hand, APM, who was awarded the Australian Police Medal for his significant service within South Australia Police. Detective Superintendent Hand has served in South Australia Police since 1977, with a focus on leadership and criminal investigation roles while bringing significant reforms into the police force. This includes leading projects which implemented the deployment of portable fingerprint scanners, mobile computing and mobile automated number plate recognition. Additionally, the detective superintendent was also the officer in charge of the further development of firearms regulations in 2017.

Each of these honours recipients is a dedicated member of our local community and I wish to express my sincere gratitude to each and every one of them for their contribution to our community and to the broader Australian society. Thank you all so very much for your outstanding commitments and your efforts, both within your professions and as volunteers.