Glenelg Football Club 2019 Premiers

17 Oct 2019 speech

I am once again proudly wearing the Glenelg Football Club colours in the House today to celebrate the Tigers winning their first premiership in 33 years on Sunday 22 September. This is when Glenelg defeated the Port Adelaide Magpies by 28 points in front of a huge crowd of 39,105 people at Adelaide Oval.

My state colleague Stephen Patterson and I were there barracking for the Tigers, and we saw Glenelg's Matthew Snook take home the Jack Oatey Medal for best on ground. I want to acknowledge premiership-winning Coach Mark Stone, Captain Chris Curran and players Liam McBean, Jonty Scharenberg, Matthew Snook, Aaron Joseph, Brad Agnew, Luke Reynolds, Marlon Motlop, Darcy Bailey, Luke Partington, Andrew Bradley, Brad McCarthy, Joshua Scott, Corey Gregson, Jesse White, Vice-Captain Max Proud, Matthew Uebergang, Bradley Close, Michael Virgin, Will Gould and Carl Nicholson on their incredible efforts. Congratulations to all the players on their tremendous efforts and grand final win.

They couldn't have done this without the leadership of president, Nick Chigwidden, incoming president, Peter Carey, the board and CEO Glenn Elliott, and they certainly couldn't have done this without the support of their sponsors, volunteers and fans. I hope next year we will be back at the West End Brewery to unveil the Glenelg colours on the chimney once again. I wish the Glenelg Football Club all the very best for the 2020 season ahead. Go, Tigers!